FL Abortion Law

What is Florida’s new abortion law?

You still have options if you are facing an unplanned pregnancy in Florida.

Florida’s latest abortion law, known as the Heartbeat Law, went into effect on May 1, 2024. You may legally get an abortion in Florida up to 6 weeks 0 days into a pregnancy (the previous ruling extended to 15 weeks). If you are under the age of 18, you still need to have consent from a parent or legal guardian.

There are exceptions to the Heartbeat Law.

The law includes exceptions in cases of rape, incest, and human trafficking up to 15 weeks 0 days of pregnancy. There is no limit when there is a threat to the life of the mother. Abortions are also allowed to prevent “a serious risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment” to the mother.

Also, an ultrasound is required at least 24 hours prior to an abortion. This requirement is waived in the case of a medical emergency.

We are here for you! If you need help determining how far along your pregnancy is, call or text Women’s Help Center at 904-885-8864 to find out about a free ultrasound.

en_USEnglish