Abortion Information San Marco, FL
What Is Abortion?
Florida Abortion Laws
Recent changes to Florida abortion laws and the overturning of Roe v Wade can be confusing. If you have questions about the latest abortion laws, please do not hesitate to call Women’s Help Center.
You still have options if you are facing an unplanned pregnancy in Florida. At this time, abortion is legal in Florida until the 15th week of pregnancy, which is three months and three weeks after a woman’s first day of her last menstrual period (LMP). Abortion is illegal after that time unless carrying the pregnancy to term would result in severe injury or death to the mother or if her fetus has a fatal anomaly.
Additionally, Florida requires a 24-hour waiting period before an abortion can occur. The abortionist (or a referring physician) must confirm a fetus’ gestational age through ultrasound and inform the patient of the physical risks of both having an abortion and carrying the pregnancy to term. This must occur at least 24 hours before the abortion.
Abortion and Minors
- Am I Really Pregnant? And if so, is my pregnancy viable (living)?
- Is there a heartbeat?
- Am I at risk for a natural miscarriage?
- Do you know what the laws in Florida are regarding abortion?